Unicorns, I love them…

27 Jul

I saw Despicable Me a few weeks ago and I want to go see it again so badly. That rarely happens to me; I never really care to go back to the theater to see a movie again… but lately, Toy Story 3, Inception, Despicable Me, that’s been the case. Maybe tonight I’ll hit the dollar theater and see something I’ve been secretly wanting to see. I love Russell Crowe and Robin Hood is finally down at that theater. And somewhere in the girly part of my brain I secretly want to see Letters to Juliet. I know, I know. Cheesy and it’s probably terrible, but I’d like to see it nevertheless. It has to be better than Dear John was, right?

Last night I opened my windows and turned off my a/c. It was glorious. It’s been so hot and humid that I haven’t been able to stomach turning off the a/c (even though I much prefer natural air). But, last night as I was coming home from teaching, driving with the windows down, I thought maybe it finally cooled down just enough for me to enjoy the breeze through my windows. And I slept better last night than I have in weeks. Glorious. I also woke up taking up my entire king sized bed. I had managed to sleep diagonally with my legs and arms sprawled out. Again, glorious.

I went running again this morning. This is the third morning in a row I’ve gotten a good run in before noon. It makes me feel so much better through the day and I’m so proud of my accomplishments. I go in and out of “being a runner.” I’ll run for months and then fall off for a year. This time my goal is to keep it up through the fall and winter. I thoroughly enjoy it once I get my body to a point that I can go long distances and vary my pace, etc. It’s getting to that point that is hard (as it is with anything). Once I fall off, I have a hard time getting back into a groove. So this time I have vowed not to fall off.

I deleted my Facebook account and have also vowed not to text anymore. I realized over the last few months how heavily my life depending on communicating with people in non-verbal ways. I guess this blog is non-verbal communication… I’m going to allow it though since it’s not really communication directed at someone specific. It’s more for me (and I guess anyone else who stumbles upon it… maybe no one else is reading this? who knows.). I’ve been using email a lot more recently but for some reason I put so much more into an email than I ever did a Facebook message or a text. I guess email became more of the replacement for snail mail. It’s easier to type at length than in a text and it doesn’t come with all the drama of Facebook. So, in addition to running more, I’m vowing to place more importance on meaningful conversation. More verbal talks and more face-to-face time. I know that with some people that will be harder. Schedules are different and a great deal of my friends are in different places now. Since I’m only investing in relationships that I think are worth it, I think it’ll work. And hopefully in the process it will build stronger and better relationships.

I made cookies for my students last night… they were delicious. They ate all three dozen… my 19 students ate three dozen cookies. It made me feel good 🙂

Maple Syrup Snickerdoodles

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup salted butter
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 3 tblsp real maple syrup
  • 1 egg

I creamed the butter, applesauce and sugar together before adding the maple syrup and egg. In a separate bowl, combine all of the dry ingredients. Then, slowly combine the wet and dry ingredients while constantly mixing on a low speed. I rolled the cookies into about 1 inch balls and placed them an inch apart on the cookie sheet. I baked them in a preheated oven at 350 degrees for about 7 minutes. They’ll puff up and start to crack on top. They were delicious. I love maple syrup… and apparently so do my students.
Unfortunately, I forgot to take a picture of them before my students devoured them. Guess that means I’ll have to make more.

Leave a Reply

