Change

3 Jul

I love when unexpected people come back into my life. I’ve started spending more time with people I went to college with who now live in the same area as me. It feels good to rebuild connections and build stronger relationships. I still sometimes marvel at the fact that I went to a college where I literally knew everyone but didn’t really necessarily know them. So now, I’m getting to know people that I didn’t really know. I like that. I mean, you can stalk people as much as you want on Facebook, but you still can’t say you know them. When opportunities pop up and people pop back into your life, take advantage of it because you never know when they’ll pop out again. So this summer is to spending as much time as possible with people who make me happy… that and celebrating this 4th of July weekend since it’s a holiday I haven’t celebrated in about 6 years. Fireworks, good company, music and of course, food.

Chocolate Chip Cookies (modified from the recipe that comes with Crisco shortening sticks)

1 cup brown sugar, firmly packed

1/3 cup sugar

1/2 cup shortening

1/4 cup butter or margarine

2 tbsps. milk

1 tbsp. vanilla extract

1 egg

1 3/4 cup flour

1 tsp. salt

3/4 tsp. baking soda

1 1/2 cups of any combination of chocolate chips (I used 1/2 cup white chocolate chips, 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips and 1/2 cup dark chocolate M&Ms)

Cream the butter, shortening and sugars in a large bowl. Add the milk and vanilla and beat until combined. Add the egg next. In a separate bowl, combine the dry ingredients. Slowly add the dry ingredients to the creamed mixture. Once combined, add the chocolate. Drop onto a baking sheet and bake at 375 degrees F for about 8 minutes (10 if you like your cookies a little crispier). You can make them any size you want, just be consistent or you’ll end up with some overdone and some underdone cookies. I make standard tablespoon sized cookies, spaced about an inch apart.

Leave a Reply

